When a Plane Wasn’t a Bus in the Air

This is one of my favorite times of year, when the network shows premiere! All of the cliffhangers I was left with in late May are finally going to be resolved. I also get so excited about the new shows and the different promotional strategies that are used.

Perhaps, its a symptom of living in LA but I feel like I see more outdoor advertisements for television shows and movies than I have seen any other American city I’ve visited. However, with this oversaturation of media advertising I have a pretty good idea of what’s on the horizon as far as new television shows. One show that is getting a huge push this season is ABC’s Pan Am.

I am very excited to watch the series premiere of this show in a few hours and I believe it comes at an extremely opportune time. With AMC’s Mad Men having received critical acclaim and numerous Emmys it seems Americans are fascinated by the fashion, style, music and culture of the 1960s. It was a time when women didn’t leave the house with a hat and heels, the dangers of smoking were still being debated and nightclubs featured live bands. Its an exciting time that incites writers to revisit this fascinating period and inject their own fictitious characters. With Mad Men taking a long hiatus due to some contract negotiations with the writers, it is the perfect time for a similar show to sneak in and take some of its viewers. I, as a Mad Men fan, am looking forward to Pan Am being the perfect merger between Mad Men and Grey’s Anatomy. I only hope that Pan Am is as smart, sexy and brilliantly written as the former two.

In case you haven’t seen it, below are some of their television spots and outdoor ads.

Pan Am's Bust Stop Ad

Pan Am's Retro Ad in TV Guide

Additionally, they’ve done a couple site takeovers and banner ads on YouTube and Pandora among others. For me their Twitter promotion was the most interesting, however quite confusing. So @PanAmABC has been addressing its Twitter followers for weeks now as passengers, very cute. Along with their Twitter push they are also hosting a Twitter Powered Flight. Every person who tweets with #PanAm is entered in a drawing for a Pan Am flight bag. All of these #PanAm tweets power a Pan Am flight around the world starting in New York and heading west. This is where it gets confusing, at least to me. Every tweet gets the plane closer to the destination “every tweet flies over one thousand feet,” which doesn’t make sense to me because then the flight would have rounded the earth a few dozen times already. But then, there are scheduled dates for when the flight will land in various cities. I am well-versed in Twitter. It’s the first thing I look at in the morning and the last thing I look at at night and my favorite way to keep up with all of the news on my shows. And I couldn’t figure it out. To me this was a good idea that wasn’t well explained. After giong through the site a few times I still don’t get it. Oh well.. at least now I ‘m entered to win a Pan Am bag?

Regardless, I’m excited to take off with Pan Am tonight!!!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

